Hello!

My name is Jenni and I am a sophomore at Lake State University where I study Criminal Justice and History. In just a few days I will be going on an adventure of a life time to Scotland through the Experience Scotland program. I will be there for about four months. I am excited and a little nervous about this trip as it is my first trip alone, without a group of people that I know. It’s going to put me out of my comfort zone, but that’s not such a bad thing and I’m actually looking forward to it.

I have my plane tickets confirmed and all I have to do is call on Sunday to figure out where I am sitting. I also have travel buddies from Wisconsin colleges that are on the same flight as me. We have a small layover in London, but it looks like we don’t have to switch airports, so thank goodness for that! Definitely check for that, especially if you have a small layover. The program actually sent out a flight list of who was arriving when and on what airline. A Facebook group was also created, so that helped too. It is up to you to find travel buddies, but because of the flight list and Facebook group, it isn’t difficult. A lot of people want travel buddies to share a taxi with, safety in numbers and all that jazz. The program also sends out directions on how to get to Dalkeith from wherever you are flying into, either Glasgow or Edinburgh, and gives it for taxi, car or bus. Taxi is recommended because there won’t be any other stops, although its a little more expensive. Car is not recommended because driving in Scotland isn’t the same as driving in the U.S. and that’s how accidents happen!

Right now, I’m getting everything set. This includes packing, documents, books needed (like a travel book), and just making sure that I am prepared, or at least a little prepared, for possible culture shock. Also making sure that everything is good to go at Lake State with classes. I have also been signing up for trips during the program, like going to the Highlands, Glasgow, and London. I’m looking forward to it, not just the trips, but the classes and meeting new people aspect of it. It will be an adventure for sure!

Think that’s it for now! Until next time 🙂

